The main office of the Bank of Zachary has always been on Main Street, though in three different locations. The original office of the Bank, which still stands, is a half-block west of the Lee Street intersection. The building has been home to the Zachary Chamber of Commerce since 1998.

The second Bank of Zachary was built on the southeast corner of Main and Lee and was first occupied on July 13, 1957. The building went through extensive renovations in 1971, and then served as the main office until late 1999. Now, this building is the property of the City of Zachary, with the old lobby serving as the City Council Chambers. 

On June 19, 1999, the Bank of Zachary began operations in our current location at 4743 Main Street.

Our Presidents

The first president was Adolphus deBritton, and the first Board of Directors consisted of Herman Fields, Joe Gottleib, Charles R. Lemon, Charles F. Ratcliff and Michael F. Amrhein. The records show that the presidency passed to Herman Fields in 1908. Albert C. Mills succeeded Mr. Fields as president in early 1926. The fourth president, J. H. Rhodes, was elected July 1, 1947. Our fifth bank president, J. I. Daniel, Jr. was elected to office on June 19, 1968. Mr. Daniel retired as president June 30, 1973 and upon his retirement Russell Bankston was appointed interim Chief Executive Officer.

On May 19, 1974, Harry S. Morris, Jr. was elected president. In August 2006, Preston L. Kennedy succeeded Mr. Morris as president, serving in that capacity until the end of 2016. On January 3, 2017, Mark S. Marionneaux became the eighth president of Bank of Zachary. Mark was later named the Chief Executive Officer on May 15, 2018.

Among the 71 original shareholders are many names very familiar in our community today: Amrhein, Annison, Chaney, Corcoran, East, Fields, Johnston, Kirkwood, Lemon, Loudon, McHugh, McKowen, Mills, Montegudo, Munson, Noble, Samuel, Shelmire, Tucker, Watson, Woodside, Yarbrough, Young and others.